About Us

The Northern Neck Orchestra (NNO) is a full-sized symphony orchestra based in Kilmarnock, Virginia. Founded in 1991 and operating without interruption since its inception, the NNO performs three to four concerts yearly featuring selections from the standard symphonic orchestra repertory.

Concerts often include compositions from Broadway shows and other scores familiar to our audiences. Works featuring guest soloists as well as members of the orchestra are also a regular feature.

The NNO is comprised of enthusiastic amateur and talented student musicians as well as a number of professional musicians who come together out of a love of music and performance.

The Northern Neck Orchestra is a 501(c)(3) corporation (TIN 54-1927050) managed by an all-volunteer board of directors. The orchestra is funded through ticket sales; donations from private citizens; advertising from local businesses; and grants from the Rappahannock Foundation for the Arts, the Virginia Commission for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Arts, the Dominion Foundation, Virginia Commonwealth Bank, VCB Financial Group, the River Counties Community Foundation, the Lula & Mason Cole Charitable Trust, and the Tidewater Foundation and its annual fundraising event the Holly Ball. We thank you all!

Our corporate sponsor:



Our Mission

The mission of the Northern Neck Orchestra includes:

  • providing exposure to the orchestral repertoire through performances of high artistic quality,
  • educating the community regarding the preservation and development of the musical arts,
  • enabling local musicians to rehearse and perform in an organized setting, and
  • encouraging the development of young musical talent through mentoring and performance opportunities.

The Northern Neck Orchestra is managed by an all-volunteer board of directors comprised of musicians and non-musicians who are enthusiastic about advancing the mission of the orchestra. Board members are members of the community who bring a wide range of experience to the table. They are charged with having the interest and ability to contribute to the growth of the orchestra.

Chairman of the Board – Ammon G. Dunton, Jr.
Vice Board Chairman
– Thomas R. Coye
–¬†Michelle M. Lybarger
Vice-President – Musical Guidance – Eric S. Jacobson
Treasurer – Deborah M. Evans
Secretary – Nancy C. Wilson
Assistant Secretary –¬†Sandra C. Byrd
Other Directors  РKatherine Wall-Eskridge, Badger Godwin, Terrell E. Greene, Vashti Jones, Eric F. Nost, Jeffrey Patnaude, Cary M. Schneider, Leonard W. Tillman, and Elaine Weekley

Comments are closed.