Beethoven, Britten, Montgomery

The Northern Neck Orchestra’s 32nd season kicks off with a matinee performance on Sunday, October 15th, conducted by Music Director Michael Repper, featuring Benjamin Britten’s playful Simple Symphony, the Virginia premiere of Jessie Montgomery’s dazzling Rounds for Strings and Piano and Ludwig van Beethoven’s epic Symphony No. 7.

The concert at the Northumberland High School Theater, 201 Academic Lane, in Heathsville begins at 3:00 p.m. and will be preceded by a pre-concert talk at 2:15 p.m.

We’re delighted to open the season with a rich mix
of wonderful music. Each work will move the listener
in a different way: Britten’s warm nostalgia, Montgomery’s
eloquent imagery and Beethoven’s electric exuberance.

Michael Repper
Music Director | Conductor

The opening concert begins with Britten’s delightful Simple Symphony. This special treat showcases themes Britten first wrote when he was only nine years old. Composed when Britten was 20, the symphony reflects the sweetness and innocence of his youth and is dedicated to his childhood viola teacher.

This concert continues with the thought-provoking new music of composer Jessie Montgomery’s 2022 composition Rounds for Strings and Piano with Michael Repper conducting from the piano. Rounds was inspired by the eloquent imagery of T.S. Eliot’s epic poem “Four Quartets” which evokes the interconnection of all things.

The concert concludes with Beethoven’s thrilling Symphony No. 7, which the composer considered one of his best works. “This is Beethoven at his boisterous best,” he said. “It’s an exciting way to end the first performance of a new season of memorable concerts. Don’t miss them.”

Season tickets for the four concerts are $128.00.
Tickets for individual performances are $40.00.
Students are admitted free.

Tickets may be purchased online
or at the check-in desk.

Patrons of the orchestra will be receiving
a season brochure shortly.
Click Here to Purchase Tickets

Comments are closed.