The Orchestra’s 30th Season

Tickets are now on sale for the Northern Neck Orchestra’s 2021-2022 concert season, conducted by Music Director Michael Repper. The orchestra’s 30th season features exciting performances of legendary masterworks and exceptional compositions deserving of greater recognition.

Highlights include Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s Symphony No. 41 “Jupiter,” Felix Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto, George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, Florence Price’s Ethiopia’s Shadow in America, Arturo Marquez’s Danzon No. 2, and Louise Farrenc’s Symphony No. 3.

Season tickets for three concerts are $90.00. Tickets for individual performances are $36.00. Students are admitted free. Concertgoers are requested to be fully vaccinated and wear a mask.

Tickets can be purchased at the door or here.

All performances begin at 7:30 p.m. and will be preceded by an enlightening pre-concert talk at 6:45 p.m.

The orchestra will follow all applicable COVID-19 public health regulations at its performances to help safeguard concertgoers and musicians.

“The Northern Neck Orchestra’s 2021-2022 concert season  marks the 30th year of performances by the orchestra since its founding in 1991. Make sure you have a place in our growing audience for a special season ahead.”
— Northern Neck Orchestra President Michelle Lybarger

2021-2022 Concert Season Program

Beethoven and Gershwin

The opening concert on November 6, 2021 at the Lancaster Middle School Theater in Kilmarnock features Ludwig van Beethoven’s Symphony No. 1, George Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue and an epic dance fusion by Mexican composer Arturo Marquez, Danzon No. 2. Both the Gershwin and Marquez works feature Michael Repper at the piano.




Mozart and Haydn

On March 5, 2022, the concert at the Lancaster Middle School Theater showcases Florence Price’s prize-winning work Ethiopia’s Shadow in America, Joseph Haydn’s Cello Concertowith guest soloist 20-year-old Camden Archambeau and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart’s final and grandest Symphony No. 41, “Jupiter.”




Mendelssohn and Farrenc

The season concludes with concerts on May 13 at the Lancaster Middle School Theater and May 14 at the Northumberland High School Theater in Heathsville. The program includes Felix Mendelssohn’s vibrant Violin Concerto performed by Moises Cunha, the orchestra’s Concertmaster and Principal Violinist, and unfairly neglected, but tremendously exciting works by English and French composers, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s Ballade and Louise Farrenc’s Symphony No. 3.


Please consider a donation to help support the orchestra

Comments are closed.